Who does not know about the city of Vyborg, which is located in the Leningrad region?There are many interesting attractions.Among them is the museum-reserve of national importance "Mon Repos".This park was built in the XVIII century.The history of its development is very entertaining.For all the tourists coming here doors of the museum are open from 10.00 to 21.00 hours.
glorious city of Vyborg
What is known that the subject of our vast Motherland?Not only is his sight Mon Repos Park.How to get here?Very simple: from St. Petersburg on the highway "Scandinavia" to Vyborg.The distance is equal to about 130 km.From this we can conclude that from the northern capital city is very near.
from the border with Finland Vyborg separated by only 27 kilometers.There was this village in the Middle Ages.Swedes founded it.Vyborg is the only historic settlement in the Leningrad region.There are many archaeological, architectural and sculptural monuments.Among them are the Vyborg Castle, Vyborg fortress, Ann's st
How to get there?
A stay in Vyborg and visit the Museum "Mon Repos"?This park is the jewel of the city.It is situated on the bank of the Vyborg Bay in the northern part of Vyborg.The most convenient way to get here by public transport.If you drive from St. Petersburg, you can choose one of three directions:
• with the Finland Station by train to the station of Vyborg;
• metro station "Devyatkino" or "Parnassus" by bus to the reserve;
• from the train / bus station and bus number 6 and № 1.
What represents the park Mon Repos?Hours him above.The people there are always a lot, especially on weekends.Peak season attendance - from May to October.Despite the fact that this natural museum is located in the city, the usual hustle and bustle here.On the contrary, if the park is impregnated tranquility and majesty of the time.Its very name tells about it (in French Monrepo means "the place of my solitude").
This park - a unique example of unity and work of human hands of Mother Nature.Its area is just over 160 hectares.The historic core of the reserve - a manor and park ensemble of the late 18th and early 19th centuries.This architectural wooden buildings and sculptures, and garden greenery, dating back more than 200 years.It adjoins the historic part of the reserve almost primeval Karelian forest.There is a unique, untouched by human hand nature: huge bizarre boulders covered with lichen, rocks, centenary trees.The fence around this natural museum symbolic.Entrance fee.Funds from ticket sales go to the maintenance of order and cleanliness of the park.
on earth, where now a museum that once existed Karelian settlement.It was called "Old Vyborg."Once the area was leased by the Swedish burghers.And in 1710 the Vyborg fortress stormed by Peter I. After a few decades, the land was given to the use of its Commandant Peter Stupishin.It was he who began to elevate the local area, spending reclamation lifted orchard, greenhouse, landed unusual deciduous trees and built a manor house.Park host named in honor of his beloved wife - Sharlottendol.After his death, the estate took possession of the brother of Grand Duchess Maria Feodorovna Prince of Württemberg.He gave the name of the reserve.
heyday of Mon Repos
What happened then?In 1788 the estate acquired president of the St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences, Ludwig Heinrich Nikolai.After retiring, he devoted himself entirely to the beautification of the reserve.During his stay here has reached its greatest prosperity Mon Repos Park.Things that have survived, a native of the time.This manor house designed by Joseph Martinelli, and a library aide, and a statue of Vainamoinen with Scandinavian harp and Chinese bridges, and "hermitage" and generic crypt Nicolai with a mask of Gorgon on the island of the Dead, and more.The fame of this romantic manor was so great that in 1863 it was visited by Emperor Alexander II.At the turn of the XIX and XX centuries, members of the youth gathered here at the invitation of the Christian movement the last male of the family of Baron Nicolai Paul George.After his death, the estate has departed his sisters.
Park during and after the war
amazing story of the reserve does not end there.There are still many challenges waiting for Mon Repos Park.Photos of many of its attractions are presented here.Some of them, unfortunately, did not survive to the present day.Among them - the temple of Neptune, Turkish tent Marienturm.
Soviet-Finnish war, which ended in 1940, led to the city of Vyborg and the whole Karelian Isthmus moved into the possession of the Soviet Union.The Soviet authorities have shown great interest in historical monuments.Hence it has been taken out most of the valuable exhibits, family archives Nicolai.Many of the items were in the State Hermitage Museum, which holds to this day.The park was established recreational area for one of the infantry divisions.
Later, when the Reserve pay a visit to the Commission on the Arts, it became clear that the military illegally produced felling of rare trees, pavilions partially collapsed, and some sculptures simply destroyed.In 1941, the war resumed.The Finns, who took the time to this local area, have adapted the estate under the military hospital.In 1944, Vyborg and Mon Repos again came under the leadership of the Soviet authorities.Next
area and built on it changed owners and its purpose.It was here over the years and a kindergarten, and a recreation park, a place of rest and the military, and others. Positive changes only began after 1988.Then the park restoration work began, the museum was opened.
Thanks to restoration work carried out here, we can enjoy the attractions of the reserve.A lot of them here.Mon Repos Park, Vyborg today attracts tourists from all over the world.People come here to see the quaint Chinese bridge.Year of establishment - 1798 th.It was a colorful arched bridges in the Chinese style, linking the islands between artificial ponds.During the war, they were lost.Bridges restored in 1998-2002.
There was once, but did not reach the present day so-called Chinese umbrella.This building was a pavilion with an umbrella on a cliff top.Climb to the platform could be the stairs.
Monument was created in 1831.He portrays the hero of the northern legends, sitting with the harp, and the people in charge of the days of the former glory of the country.To this day the monument was not saved.We can see a reconstruction of the sculpture.It was originally made of gypsum.This statue was soon broken by vandals.Paul Nicolai ordered a copy of the well-known sculptor in Finland.The new sculpture was made of zinc and are also set to Mon Repos.Park it is unfortunately graced long.During World War II, the monument was lost.Reconstituted and open to view the statue was in 2007.
Isle of the Dead
Many tests has fallen and the share of the next monument.It is an architectural ensemble of the so-called island of the dead.Other -ostrov Lyudvigshtayn its name.The composition now includes chapel, grotto Medusa, gates, a necropolis, a marina and a stone staircase.
And what was here before, in the days of family ownership Nicolai?In 1796-m master in the memory of a dead friend F. Lafermere decided to install a box here, which was later moved to the island.Soon there also appeared a dam, a stone staircase, a grotto of Medusa and a terrace at the foot of the cliff.
little later at the Nicolai had the idea to create a Gothic castle on the island.After the construction of the facilities of the place here becomes a familial necropolis.These were moved and buried the remains of Johanna and Ludwig Heinrich Nikolai, and then the urn F. Lafermera.For four generations, the island became a kind of last refuge.After the war the family cemetery was desecrated and the tombstones and part of the buildings completely destroyed.Despite this, the area attracts many tourists visiting the park Mon Repos.Isle of the Dead affects the prevailing atmosphere here mysticism of ancient legends.
This source is located in the north-west of the reserve.Locals believe in the miraculous power of its water.There is a legend that the water heals eye diseases.In the local dialect of the source name sounded like "Silm" (from the word "eye").Then LG Nicolai renamed it, calling the name of a nymph Silm, which, according to legend, cured a blind love of the shepherd Lars.
Why is natural monument called "Narcissus"?Before the war in the niche of the pavilion was a sculpture of the hero of Greek mythology Narcissus.Later, the statue was lost.During the restoration work here have been restored lion mask and grille.Spring water is weakly mineralized, radon therapy.Many tourists to visit this source come to Vyborg.Attractions, Park Mon Repos, architectural and cultural monuments - everything here draws them.
monument was built in 1804 under Peter Stupishin has a federal importance.Once he looked walls are painted in the style of the grisaille technique, the ceiling - with rich stucco, decorated with painted canopy, in the corners - shaped oven.There was a magnificent large hall, two living rooms, dining room, living room.Redevelopment is held here in Soviet times, and in 1989 a fire destroyed part of the premises and objects.After 2000, the manor house were carried out restoration work.Because of this we can now contemplate the monument in the reserve "Mon Repos".The park attracts tourists and its other attractions.
author of this construction is unknown.Originally, the pavilion was built of logs.On the roof was installed tower with a bell.The walls were covered with birch bark.The hut was a small table and a bed, covered with a cane.In 1876, the building burned down.In its place today is the new hexagonal pavilion without doors.
Be truthful picture of this monument of culture you can read comments of people who visited him.The first thing you pay attention to the tourists, it's surprising beauty landscapes.It is known that many artists like to come here to write his paintings.Especially good park in the summer and early fall.But some prefer visiting the reserve in winter.As is known, the island of the dead can only get on the water.Officially, his visit is prohibited.However, many tourists go to the island in winter on the ice.Some manage to go in the summer wading waters.The cost of the ticket, in the opinion of travelers is low and in 2014 only 60 rubles.According to preliminary applications administration Reserve arranges tours and special events.
We found that the main attraction, because of which is to visit the city of Vyborg - Mon Repos Park.How to get here, we already know.No wonder this place is called the "oasis of peace".Tourists who have visited here, all advised not to pass by and be sure to visit this open-air museum.